The Wisemen Know, Volume 12

The title tells it all – basketball experts are going to tell you what they think of the Lithuanian team chances in the upcoming Euroleague games as well as a weekly question about European hoops in general. The panel will consist of well-respected coaches (Luka Bassin and Tane Spasev), scouts (Alejandro Gonzalez and Rafael Uehara)  and many different basketball writers (Arkadios Chasirides, Christophe Ney, John Hobbs, Nick GibsonOs DavisSebastian Komianos, Simon Jatsch) and even a pro basketball player Milan Prodanovic. I can assure you that these clever minds will all surely have something interesting to share.

To make it even more interesting, there’s a catch involved as each of the experts had only one limitation in the process – the thoughts had to fit in a tweet (140 characters).

[EDITED: HA HA!]

Alejandro Gonzalez: This should be the easiest pick of the season involving Lietuvos Rytas. Anything but a solid Greek win will surprise me. PAO.

Arkadios Chasirides: Panathinaikos.

Christophe Ney: Pana.

John Hobbs: Panathinaikos, purely for home-court advantage. Rytas will struggle.

Luka Bassin: I believe that LR has no chances in Athens. Clear win for Panathinaikos

Milan Prodanovic: Panathinaikos.

Nick Gibson: Rytas plays better when Brad Newley is aggressive. Period. If he can play Romain Sato to a stalemate, I like Rytas’ chances. Pana…by 5.

Sebastian Komianos: Panathinaikos, no idea how they can lose a home game against Rytas.

Simon Jatsch: Panathinaikos, but closer than expected.

Tane Spasev: Pao by 20…we can talk and analyse but the deference in class is obvious.

ZALGIRIS FAVORED FOR THE HOME WIN

Alejandro Gonzalez: Tough pick. Anything could happen and could be key for wisemen standings! I’m going with Valencia and I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

Arkadios Chasirides: Zalgiris.

Christophe Ney: Zalgiris.

John Hobbs: Close game, but I’m going with Zalgiris.

Luka Bassin: Tough one. Close to overtimes, maybe. This time I’ll go with Lithuanians. Zalgiris, do not screw this one!

Milan Prodanovic: Valencia.

Nick Gibson: Nando de Colo continues to be the most singly disappointing player in this Top16 and Trent Plaisted has proven he belongs. Zalgiris by 7.

Sebastian Komianos: Zalgiris, they need to use the momentum.

Simon Jatsch: Damn difficult I thought. But then I realised that D.Collins is playing for the hosts. Hence it is an easy choice: Zalgiris by 23.

Tane Spasev: Now this is the game that I like. Zalgiris by 7. I like this match-up for Zalg. Have in mind though,Valencia picked up form. Pesic is great.

QUESTION OF THE WEEK

Alejandro Gonzalez: This season or just the best one coaching in Euroleague right now? Messina is my favorite but I love Pianigiani job in Siena.

Arkadios Chasirides: Zeljko.

Christophe Ney: Difficult to say as I have never worked with one of them, so i go results –> Zeljko Obradovic.

John Hobbs: Obradovic. I’m a fan of him, so being bias.

Luka Bassin: Lot of good coaches. Trophies are the sign…so Obradović, Ivković…For me – Ettore Messina.

Milan Prodanovic: Close race between Pesic and Blatt, I’ll be biased and go with Pesic. Bring Valencia back was impressive. Also, Blatt has more to work with.

Nick Gibson: Obradovic. Messina. Ivkovic. All great. But if I’m starting a team give me Jure Zdovc. His loyalty and leadership can’t be bested in the EL.

Sebastian Komianos: I hate “who’s the best” questions as I find them really subjective. Pesic really transformed Valencia though, you can’t ignore that. Also keeping an eye on Olimpija’s Zdovc.

Simon Jatsch: Damn difficult. Maybe still Messina, if you give him full authorisation over roster management.

Tane Spasev: I like a lot of coaches..every one unique in their own way.Hard to choose.Scariolo(not in EL now) Pesic, Obradovic…I choose not to answer! Who’s doing the best coaching job so far? Blatt. Knowing how Maccabi played last year and how they play now.

The Wisemen Know, Volume 12

7 thoughts on “The Wisemen Know, Volume 12

  1. reamon says:

    Sebastian Komianos: Panathinaikos, no idea how they can lose a home game against Rytas.
    What do you say now, Sebastian?

  2. Of the two Lithuanian teams, the one that many predicted would not come away with a victory on week 5 is the one who shocked fans. Many thought that PAO is simply unbeatable at home but L. Rytas shown that it can be done. Zalgiris’ chances of qualifying for the playoffs might be done, but L. Rytas is becoming a strong contender at the last minute, just like they did during the regular season.

  3. Best Coach: When it comes to winning and designing a game strategy, no doubt, Zeljko. But about mentality and style I like Ettore. For this season, it should be Zdovc. Before few hours their EL season starts, we weren’t sure how many players are registered, due to finance, etc. They played impressive, no doubt about it.

    Suggestion for question of next week to the Wisemen -are we counting Arkadios as wise btw?:)-, What is the secret of Mirza Teletovic? Is he the holy son of Ivanovic or does he possess Ivanovic’s sextapes? I guess second one or worse. He tries tons of times beyond the arc, although he makes very little of them. 3/13, 2/8, etc. and how da hell he succeeds to play almost 40 mins every game by shooting like that? If Rytas wins this week, it’s not because of Khalid I guess, because of all the curses coming from EL fantasy players, I, seriously, stopped playing it due to him, 2 years ago, not joking.

    1. I would’ve said Zeljko as well, however a lot depends on the cast available. Take Messina for example, he was so good with CSKA, but is now struggling in Madrid. In mind, having the right set of players is the key for every coach, who can then either screw things up (if he’s incompetent) or be the allow the team to make that extra step that leads to trophies.

      And I haven’t heard any curses from Fantasy EL players. Why so? Ha ha…

      1. Few weeks ago at TV show in Turkey, one of the participants directly cursed him, his unpredictable performances make him crazy at EL fantasy. So, officially, I’m not alone:) Sure, there are many…

        Personally, I’m glad Messina couldn’t put things on the track. (Visca el Barça, forever anti-Madridista) I always liked that whatever system he chooses, he finds a perfect chemistry and achieves the right basketball from my perspective. Kinder(not only 2001&2002 teams but also in 90s), Benetton, CSKA made an impact on me. As I started reading his blog, I realized more how he achieves that, on and off the court, his human side. All were very impressive for me. About Madrid, I also think club is major responsible for him not placing his system, there are always managerial side problems. Plus, the defensive attitude doesn’t fit with his defensive philosophy in Spain. I have always thought Spaniard fails the defensive mentality, at least they are not really good at it overall. For Messina, this is something crucial and I’ve seen this in the games. But I agree with you on the point it is all good or screwed, whether he makes his system work.

Leave a Reply

